Author |
Message |
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:20 am Post subject: Starting a new Chat client program |
|
|
|
|
most of you will probly disagree with this but i want to make a chat client in vb 6.0, i can also code c++ but i want to do it in VB, im having trouble understanding the protocol, if anyone has some spare time could you either help me with the protocol.bas or atleast explain it to me. Thank you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Use the chatnet protocol. It's much easier to implement. _________________ Hyperspace Owner
Smong> so long as 99% deaths feel lame it will always be hyperspace to me |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Doc Flabby Server Help Squatter
Joined: Feb 26 2006 Posts: 636 Offline
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Samapico No, these DO NOT look like penises, ok?
Joined: May 08 2003 Posts: 1252 Offline
|
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 8:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
If you want to do stuff in VB6, you can check out DCME, the map editor ( http://www.ssforum.net/index.php?showforum=277 )
You can get the source via SVN _________________ (Insert a bunch of dead links here) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bak ?ls -s 0 in
Age:25 Gender: Joined: Jun 11 2004 Posts: 1826 Location: USA Offline
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
ok thanks lots guys, just cant figure out how to connect to a zone, that page said something about tcp, i tried to connect to devastation with tcp and udp and no response, im sure im doing something wrong, altho if i could get it to connect that protocol doesnt seem too hard at all id be able to use it |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hakaku Server Help Squatter
Joined: Apr 07 2006 Posts: 299 Location: Canada Offline
|
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Yeah, don't connect to Deva, for whatever reason you won't be able to connect to the server using the TCP chatnet protocol. Try testing on a local asss zone, though as Bak mentioned zones like Hyperspace and Hockey Zone will work. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
i started a basic client, got it to connect but that page with the protocol isnt the real protocol to connect to zone and do everything else is it? seems very basic. anyways i tried sending that example of the login and i cant even get the server to send me a response |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bak ?ls -s 0 in
Age:25 Gender: Joined: Jun 11 2004 Posts: 1826 Location: USA Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
I think that chatnet port is the server port , TCP is that what you're using to connect? Does the TCP connection get established correctly?
It's not a complete protocol, it's just what a chat client needs/
Last edited by Bak on Sat Aug 29, 2009 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoWie Server Help Squatter
Gender: Joined: Feb 25 2004 Posts: 215 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 8:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
by default it is the same as the main port. but it can be changed with a setting |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Nevermind i got it, killer, well, now all thats left is to program it, heh, ill have a release soon
Last edited by Louis on Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoWie Server Help Squatter
Gender: Joined: Feb 25 2004 Posts: 215 Offline
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
i got it, i just used chr(10) and everything is working |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hakaku Server Help Squatter
Joined: Apr 07 2006 Posts: 299 Location: Canada Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Why change it to "1;SideCN 1.6" ? From my understanding of the document, the first should be the protocol version, followed by client information. When I send 1.6;SideCN it works properly so it's definitely not the issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Louis Newbie
Joined: Aug 24 2009 Posts: 20 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
its working now lol no problems |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoWie Server Help Squatter
Gender: Joined: Feb 25 2004 Posts: 215 Offline
|
Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 6:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
i thought he misunderstood that for the client version instead of the protocol version, but i now see the chatnet protocol is 1.6.
so "1;SideCN 1.6" should be "1;SideCN" then.
anyways the protocol version should be integral (atoi() is used, so the .6 is ignored)
not that the protocol version is currently used anywhere |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hakaku Server Help Squatter
Joined: Apr 07 2006 Posts: 299 Location: Canada Offline
|
Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Yeah, he took that part directly from my example code I sent him before (only difference being mine was in C#), that's why I asked; though it makes me feel better to mark the exact protocol version, even if it's not even used |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Doc Flabby Server Help Squatter
Joined: Feb 26 2006 Posts: 636 Offline
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|