Server Help Forum Index Server Help
Community forums for Subgame, ASSS, and bots
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   StatisticsStatistics   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Login to check your private messagesLogin to check your private messages   LoginLogin (SSL) 

Server Help | ASSS Wiki (0) | Shanky.com
ChatGui (alpha)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic Printable version
 View previous topic  SS Map Writer Post :: Post SkyDir - The crappiest Directory server!  View next topic  
Author Message
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:02 pm    Post subject: ChatGui (alpha) Reply to topic Reply with quote

So for a while I've been pimping my c# chatnet core to people in some of my development circles but it hasn't really taken off because there hasn't been any reason to use it.

UNTIL NOW

I've gotten enough done on a GUI frontend for said core to release it and have people to tell me how many things are wrong with it.

Quick rundown:
- Cross-platform (tested on Windows XP Pro using .NET Framework 2.0 and Debian Etch using Mono 1.2.4)
- The user interface is coded using Gtk#, which is a wrapper on top of the Gtk we all know and love
- The user interface itself is coded as a module so it takes full advantage of the core's module system (it even exposes some ui functionality to other modules), though I made a separate executable for ease of use and execution flow.
- Neat features like a collapsible team sort list and new "Ship Sort" which does exactly what you think it does
- Planned support of all these wonderful things, plus if you can write code in anything that can run on the CLI (C#, J#, Managed C++, VB.NET, Boo, Java, PHP, Python, and possibly some other languages I don't know about) you can write your own modules

Screenshots
Windows
Linux

Requirements
.NET Framework 2.0 or Mono 1.2.something (I'm not sure how backward compatible it is), Gtk 2.8 and a compatible Gtk# (These come with Mono, Windows users can get them here)

Downloads
http://svn.slopeout.com/ChatGui.zip or http://svn.slopeout.com/ChatGui.tar.gz

Source for the whole core is available via Subversion or by browsing the project page

Let me know what you guys think. If there's a problem or something you'd like to see, go ahead and create a ticket for it

If there's enough demand I may put up a module writing guide or two on the ASSS wiki
_________________

Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I'm not exactly sure how to compile this. The tar.gz and the zip both contain the .dll and .exe files. I didn't see the linux version pre-compiled. I've never seen the .cs extension before. icon_eek.gif

The screenshot looks very nice.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

The binary is cross-platform, you can run it on Linux (assuming you have mono installed) with
Code: Show/Hide
mono ChatGui.exe
.cs is the C# extension, you can use gmcs to compile it on linux
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Thanks.

One bug (or maybe you already know about it)
When you type in team chat, the // always goes in your messages and everyone can see it. So if I type //hi, it prints to everyone //hi. I guess all you have to do is remove the // before the message is sent.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Yeah I had some code in there that was supposed to do it but was written incorrectly. I fixed that and several other things, the binaries are updated.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Very nice. I will be using it. icon_biggrin.gif

One more thing.
When I send chat messages, it shows a black space where the message is supose to be. I highlight over it and it was still a black space. I'm not trying to bring you down. I just want you to be aware of everything. I know it's still in development. This is awesome.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

could you take a screenshot?

No problem btw, the whole point of putting it out there is so people can catch what I miss. I've already conquered a ticket icon_smile.gif
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
Cerium
Server Help Squatter


Age:41
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Mar 05 2005
Posts: 807
Location: I will stab you.
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Just a random FYI:
Using ClearType on windows will make the fonts incredibly difficult to read, thanks to the way GTK renders it's text.
_________________
There are 7 user(s) ignoring me right now.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List AIM Address
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Obviously this is on Ubuntu. I am currently installing .Net Framework on my mom's Windows 2000 pc to test it there. (When I copy, there is nothing there. It's probably just adding a \n without a message or something.


EDIT: I could not get the gui to run correctly. It crashes and leaves an error message (no details, just says send report or don't send).

When I execute ChatBot2.exe (or w/e it's called) there was a small error right before the name logged in. It logged me in and everything, but I couldn't type in the command prompt. I might need to reboot or something. I didn't have to do any of that with mono. It took forever to install .Net, but it took seconds to install mono.

I don't want to get off topic. icon_cry.gif

I guess it's safe to say you don't know exactly what will happen if you use .Net. I love the program and I am sure you will find an easy fix. I just wish .Net was better than it is. It's not your fault. icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Fixed and uploaded binaries

There is no prompt for ChatBot2.exe, user input has to be implemented by something else (ChatGui and AimRelay are the only existing ways)

if I feel adventurous and have a lot of time I may experiment with Mono.Terminal

The .NET computer does have Gtk# right?
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I have no idea. I doubt it. I'll add that later.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Solo Ace
Yeah, I'm in touch with reality...we correspond from time to time.


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Feb 06 2004
Posts: 2583
Location: The Netherlands
Offline

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

apt-get install HiImBDfagAltAndILikeShowingOffMyPervertedLinuxDesktop.

Wait, what? You're running user applications as root!? Zomg! You must really know what you're doing!
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List
CypherJF
I gargle nitroglycerin


Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 14 2003
Posts: 2582
Location: USA
Offline

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

Ew, he's one of -those- users... hehe. icon_smile.gif
_________________
Performance is often the art of cheating carefully. - James Gosling
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I had to run it as root in order to connect to anything. It would not run without running as root. Instead of doing sudo each time I just did sudo su.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

That's odd, I've never had to run it as root. Do you have a network lockdown or is it file permissions/something else entirely?
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
BDwinsAlt
Agurus's Posse


Age:33
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Jun 16 2003
Posts: 1145
Location: Alabama
Offline

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I don't think so. I know in order to connect to the net with my cell phone, I have to run it as root. I don't have to run teamspeak or any other internet programs as root. My cell phone internet has to create a ppp interface so that's probably why it has to be root. Everything else works.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Guest



Offline

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I just tried running this on XP with the latest version of .NET installed:

----------Log "Errors" Opened 8/9/2007 3:06 PM----------
<E> 8/9/2007 3:06 PM (Core): Could not load module Command: System.Reflection.ReflectionTypeLoadException: Unable to load one or more of the requested types. Retrieve the LoaderExceptions property for more information.
at System.Reflection.Module.GetTypesInternal(StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
at System.Reflection.Assembly.GetTypes()
at ChatBot2.ModuleManager.LoadModule(String name)
<E> 8/9/2007 3:06 PM (Net): Failed to connect: A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond
Back to top
Smong
Server Help Squatter


Joined: 1043048991
Posts: 0x91E
Offline

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 11:25 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

The clue is in the error message, try another server. Being a chatnet client it can only connect to asss servers, all the green ones on this page are running asss:
http://toktok.sscentral.com/zonepinger/
_________________
ss news
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website MSN Messenger
D1st0rt
Miss Directed Wannabe


Age:36
Gender:Gender:Male
Joined: Aug 31 2003
Posts: 2247
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Offline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

I've looked around on the internet about that first exception, later today I should have a new binary out that gives a more descriptive message for that error.

edit: try running the attached one and see what error messages that produces

And for the public release, clickable URLs are now implemented.




ChatGui-RTLE.zip - 337.82 KB
File downloaded or viewed 49 time(s)
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Add User to Ignore List Visit posters website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Server Help Forum Index -> Misc User Apps All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
View online users | View Statistics | View Ignored List


Software by php BB © php BB Group
Server Load: 648 page(s) served in previous 5 minutes.

phpBB Created this page in 0.540994 seconds : 46 queries executed (79.8%): GZIP compression disabled