Author |
Message |
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Cheese wrote: | why is this considered better than copying the .set file over from the module folder you just downloaded into your /set directory, then typing ?quickfix :S |
Replacing an automatic system with a manual one is never a good idea. Period. _________________ Hyperspace Owner
Smong> so long as 99% deaths feel lame it will always be hyperspace to me |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
but what are you going to do when they give you a closed source module? :\ _________________ SSC Distension Owner
SSCU Trench Wars Developer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Have them give you a file with the cfghelps in it that can be parsed as part of the building process (or make one yourself). They already have to give you a list of the settings, after all.
Or, my personal favorite: don't worry about the help text at all. Maybe you don't realize it, but you can still set the config settings without the help text. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arnk Kilo Dylie Seasoned Helper
Age:37 Gender: Joined: Jul 14 2006 Posts: 108 Offline
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Cheese wrote: | but what are you going to do when they give you a closed source module? :\ |
Tell them that's unacceptable and to give over the source. If someone wanted their crap running on my machine, then I must have an absolute guarantee it does not have something I do not want, furthermore I must be able to modify it should they choose to abandon it. Not to mention that if I modify any interfaces at all I'll need to recompile the module against them. Not to mention if their module crashes I would like to know why specifically. It's a security issue and a common sense issue. If you disagree, maybe you'd be interested in some "closed source" modules of mine...if you plan to run any zones on SSC it practically should be mandatory to have full control of whatever you run on your server, far too easy to set up a module that records stuff (hint: passwords) and sends it back to the controller without any notice or bother...and that's just the tip of the iceberg
Hak: I don't believe you. If you find make, something that takes care of everything with 1-2 commands, inconvenient, I think I understand the disconnect here.
akd@decastar-2:~/code/zone-hzasss/src> rm ../build/cfghelp.* && make
python ../scripts/extract-cfg-docs.py -c ../build/cfghelp.inc */*.c */*.py core/clientset.def
gcc -std=gnu99 -pipe -I. -Iinclude -I../build -Iakd -Ihockey -Ihz -Imisc -D_REENTRANT -D_GNU_SOURCE -fPIC -g -Wall -c -o ../build/cfghelp.o core/cfghelp.c
.
.
|
If you're interested in not tying cfghelp to the asss binary itself (which is understandable, this gives you the power to hotswap it) take the cfghelp stuff out of core.mk and make a file as such for cfg.so/cfg.dll:
cfg_mods = cfghelp
$(call tobuild, cfghelp.inc): $(builddir) $(SCRIPTS)/extract-cfg-docs.py
$(PYTHON) $(SCRIPTS)/extract-cfg-docs.py -c $@ */*.c */*.py core/clientset.def
$(eval $(call dl_template,cfg))
|
(some typos may apply but you get the idea..) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
No need for the extract-cfg-docs.py part in that .mk. The one in core will take care of that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arnk Kilo Dylie Seasoned Helper
Age:37 Gender: Joined: Jul 14 2006 Posts: 108 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Yes, that's one way, but when I said "take the cfghelp stuff out of core.mk) I meant that stuff too, just for completeness sake. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 3:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Dr Brain wrote: | [..]
Replacing an automatic system with a manual one is never a good idea. Period. |
good thing we are replacing the current manual system with a better and easier manual system then, right?
because recompilation is hardly automatic, in fact its the worst kind of manual. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 10:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
I'm sorry, the rest of us have to compile our modules as part of making them. I'm not sure how you're doing it, exactly. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoWie Server Help Squatter
Gender: Joined: Feb 25 2004 Posts: 215 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 6:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Probably one off modules in windows |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Dr Brain wrote: | I'm sorry, the rest of us have to compile our modules as part of making them. I'm not sure how you're doing it, exactly. |
yes, but why also compile modules to USE them? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
recently, i connected my zone to a biller.
this was more difficult than it should have been, because both billing:groupid and billing:scoreid are both 0 by default for some reason, which causes the 'invalid login attempt' in subbill.
now that everything is working, i have not yet figured out why my zone isnt sending commands to the biller...
is there something simple im overlooking? :S
PS:
i even tried the ?/hi and ?\hi stuff too
PPS:
?userid is coming back empty too :S |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Subbill is known not to work with billing_ssc. Get a better biller and try again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
so being a non-linux user, i have to choose between a biller that eats 100% cpu and a biller which you say is unsupported?
what would you suggest i do? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
ASSS saves its own scores, and can authenticate just as well as subbill. Why use a biller at all? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
L.C. Server Help Squatter
Age:33 Gender: Joined: Jan 03 2003 Posts: 574 Location: Missouri, US Offline
|
Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Quote: | this was more difficult than it should have been, because both billing:groupid and billing:scoreid are both 0 by default for some reason, which causes the 'invalid login attempt' in subbill. | That is because the main configuration file for ASSS is very much incomplete in that it totally leaves out basics (such as ScoreID, ServerID, NamePassword, etcetera), regardless of whether or not ASSS is running in standalone mode. It would be more acceptable if the idea of billers went extinct entirely. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2010 11:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
delete this post |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
what are the key (next to portal) and missile (next to rocket) icons in the icon.bm2 file?
never seen them used, anyone know anything about them? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
L.C. Server Help Squatter
Age:33 Gender: Joined: Jan 03 2003 Posts: 574 Location: Missouri, US Offline
|
Posted: Wed May 05, 2010 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
The key was supposedly to be able to open doors, I think.
The rocket, well, is obviously a missile that goes in one direction (probably would have had homing capabilities to some extent).
VIE never finished it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 1:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
i see a redirect.c in my source code directory, yet when i ?insmod redirect it fails.
where is it?
this one seems to be super-secret, because its not just unlisted, but also undocumented and not loaded or accessible in any fashion, and you have to use a different undocumented command to even activate it...
also, there was some command that listed the basename of an arena, which was it?
and what is clientset.def for?
it looks like its supposed to be compiled with something else, what?
will changing it affect anything?
if i have
const struct section_help *sh=&cfghelp->sections[i];
const struct key_help *kh = &sh->keys[j];
where sh and kh is good
what would cause kh->name to be a null pointer, and what would cause sh->name to always be a pointer to the address 1337?
and cfghelp.c does #include "cfghelp.inc", where is it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dr Brain Flip-flopping like a wind surfer
Age:38 Gender: Joined: Dec 01 2002 Posts: 3502 Location: Hyperspace Offline
|
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Why do you need two threads to post in?
cfghelp.inc is made in build. See the build script for answers to your other cfghelp questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arnk Kilo Dylie Seasoned Helper
Age:37 Gender: Joined: Jul 14 2006 Posts: 108 Offline
|
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Pretty sure redirect was added to core.mk a dozen revisions ago, get latest source. Just because it's in the src directory doesn't mean anything does anything with it. Redirect was broken when 1.4.4 was released so it was not compiled by default. Now it's fixed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
what about on ASSS 1.5.0rc2 built on Nov 25 2009 15:25:36?
and im not seeing redirect in /core/core.mk
so probably not? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoWie Server Help Squatter
Gender: Joined: Feb 25 2004 Posts: 215 Offline
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Arnk Kilo Dylie Seasoned Helper
Age:37 Gender: Joined: Jul 14 2006 Posts: 108 Offline
|
Posted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
Jowie said what I already said just in more words.
But regardless...it's not hard to just add it to core.mk yourself.
Practically speaking, the only version of asss supported right now is the latest default branch revision.
P.S. https://bitbucket.org/grelminar/asss/changeset/94982d160ccc - done a year ago and merged into main branch almost a year ago. Has that Windows test version been out that long already? heh.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cheese Wow Cheese is so helpful!
Joined: Mar 18 2007 Posts: 1017 Offline
|
Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 1:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
|
|
something i would like more than anything is a win32 binary with full symbols
or at least just the functions
PS: i cant build anything |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|